top of page
  • Writer's pictureCaroline Cattle

Birds of a feather

I never thought that one day I would become an all consuming bird watcher. Overnight, I became eagerly drawn to them like a moth to a flame. Maybe it’s because birds are everywhere and that you don’t have to travel to exotic locations to get a beautiful shot. Sometimes you will see me getting around in my pjs spying them further and further up the road away from home.. 'crazy bird lady' people must say. But I think for me, I love the heaven and earth connection. In photography, birds can symbolise freedom and watching a group of wings disappear far into the earths sky is breathtakingly beautiful and comforting. The Australian galah is my absolute favourite bird. There is a cute little story behind this. It began with....

“Garry.” Garry the galah, came to visit one day. It is so true that everything happens for a reason!

This pink bundle of soft feather, provided much love, larrikin and laughter to our home. From sharing ice creams to rubbing cheeks as kisses. Garry was superbly gentle.

He wasn’t ours, we searched for his owner. Yet in that waiting time, it’s safe to say, we all fell in love.

Eventually, an old, lonesome man (a little wobbly on his feet) was driven out to collect Garry…. and with a squawk and wings spread, he and his mate were gone. How sad for us. A huge Garry print lives on our wall. And Garry is everywhere as a label for my work. He always will be. Birds are the topic for a lot of my photographs. If you are looking for me that’s where I will be- somewhere chasing the sunset with the birds and....not far from home.

I think, maybe I need to do some travelling...




28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page